top of page

Don't mind me taking a bit of your time. I am just a little crazy woman writing about life. I see emotions deeply & would love to express them through stories, poems and visual art.

Every story or poem ever wrote was once an emotion untold.

Just A Stupid Story Of Love Part 1

Updated: Sep 1, 2021

Just like every day I was woken up by the alarm blowing loud. It's 7 am I have to wake up and get ready to cook and then do my office work. My body felt like it doesn't even want to see the world Dad what did you do to me? I was fine at home, wasn't I? You got me married to a monster who doesn't even love me. Wondering what's going on? Let me start by introducing myself.


I am Kira and I am the only daughter of a filthy rich diamond merchant Mr Bhupati Anand. You must be wondering how come a south Indian family names their daughter Kira? Isn't that an American name? Well, my mom spent her whole life in the USA and after marriage, she started her family with my dad in India. She really liked the name Kira and ever since I was born my mom was calling me by that name so dad made it official. I became Kira Anand. People made fun of me all my childhood calling me in all different ways like, "khira" which mean cucumber in Hindi and "Pira" which mean pain in Hindi. I was no saint I promised to make their life a living hell so studied well and became a teacher's pet. One move from the bullies and the teacher would make them stand outside the class for bulling their favourite student.



As I have already told you I am the only daughter of a filthy rich diamond merchant I had a life of luxury. There was just nothing that I lacked in life except one thing, the "time" of my loved ones. Dad was always busy and mom was a social butterfly too pretty to settle at home. All I wanted is the love, care and time of my parent like normal children get. But with the kind of life, my parents had they did not have time for me but had a lot of money for expensive gifts, designer outfits, matching accessories, cars, drivers and a bodyguard to take me anywhere I wanted to go.



On my 18 birthday, I was really expecting my parents to be around because it was special for me. But they didn't make it as usual dad and mom were in London where mom launched her new beauty product. I was so mad at them that instead of joining the house party I sneaked out of the house to a pub and drank till I almost lost my senses. My bodyguard somehow figured out where I was and drove me back home, while I puked all the way home. Then he noticed I am bleeding from my nose. I was rushed to the hospital. The doctor knew my parents so I was taken good care of. In my intoxicated state, I was still mumbling "I hate you dad. I hate you mom for not being there for me".



My dad was soon informed because I had a severe level of food poisoning. Mom and dad came and saw me mumbling their names. They really felt bad that day or so I thought. The day I got discharged dad came to my room and told me that both of them wanted to tell me something. I thought I will be scolded badly, for sneaking out of the house and going to the pub but instead, I had the shock of my life. That evening my parents came to my room sat beside me gave me a big hug. I was elated because I craved their affection and receiving their hug was like rain in the desert. Dad apologized with tears in his eyes that all these years he couldn't make enough time for me. Mom hugged me and said she wanted to make it up for being an ignorant mom. My heart melted and all my anger washed away in happy tears.


Right then when I was thinking finally dad and mom understood what I wanted and now they will make more time for me they dropped a bomb on my head. Yeah! They said they were busy people but everything they were doing was to ensure I had everything in life. Dad sighed and said, "unfortunately, things will remain the same as they both are busy with new projects". Mom also gave me a tight hug and said "I know how lonely you are. I could feel your plight dear child and that's why they have decided you should date someone and get married to him". That was not something I was expecting. Mom's words were so heartbreaking that I shoved my face on my pillow and did not bother to look at them. Dad left the photo of the guy on my table and left me in my room to think about it.



That night I did not go out for having dinner with my parents. Although getting them over dinner was something I was looking for, almost throughout the year. I had my chance and I wasted it. I simply ordered pizza ate it in my room and slept off. In the morning when the alarm blew off, I tried to stop it without even looking at it. My hands reached for the clock and I managed to stop that screaming monster. But I also got hold of the picture dad left on the table. Out of curiosity, I check the picture to find how ugly that boy could be but to my surprise the boy wasn't that bad. He looked handsome in his black suit and as 18 years old when love was all I was looking for I thought maybe the idea of dating wasn't that bad. Maybe that boy could love me and compensate for the void in my heart left by my parents.


Mom walked into my room with a cup of coffee and full-face make-up. I was annoyed to see her make-up cause I knew she was gonna leave me alone again. She found the picture of the boy was not on the table anymore and asked "Kira you saw boy isn't he handsome?". I couldn't disagree but reluctantly answered her "yes he is". My mom was overjoyed and said "Kira beta great choice, I know you are not happy because we are always away, but what could we even do? We have lived this life for more than 20 years now and it's impossible to change. So we decided that you should date Aman. He is your dad's best friend's son. Having a partner will help you cope up with your loneliness that's what we felt". I went crazy after hearing that and shouted at her "which parent of an 18-year-old sets up a boy to date just because they can't be around?". Mom heard everything in silence and left the room.




That weekend I was surprised by a sudden visit from dad's golden boy Aman. He looked all handsome but there wasn't just any pull I was feeling for him. I thought if this is what my parents have decided maybe they have decided for a reason. I must try spending more time with Aman to know him. Maybe then I can fall in love. He was waiting for me to hang out with him when one of our house helpers quickly offered him a cup of coffee. My childhood nanny who was still living with us informed me about his arrival.


Moti Amma (nanny) came to my room and gently caressed my face and asked "baby do you like this boy?". I looked at her and told her "Moti Amma can a human grow love for another human?" Moti Amma said, "human can get fond of each other but love is spontaneous it can't be grown like vegetables on a piece of land. It has to come from within and flow like a river". Perhaps I was too young to understand what Moti Amma said. I just told her "let's find out then". I got up and put on a cute dress to impress Aman and joined him. He smiled at me and like a complete gentleman extended a bunch of orchids to greet me. I don't even like the orchids I asked one of the house helpers to put them on a vase. He described the orchid to be imported and the most expensive ones. He then asked me if would like to watch a movie with him and have dinner later that evening. I had no plans for a lonely Saturday so I agreed to his offer.



To be continued....


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page